Turbo charge your CAT career.

with the
Credentials Program

The Credentials Program


Resources & Support

Glass Buildings


ISCM - final logo-WITH MAP.png

A joint collaboration


The Credentials Program


Demonstrate your knowledge  and professionalism

in the management of catastrophe risk.


These courses are a collaboration between the International Society of Catastrophe Managers (ISCM) and The CAS Institute (iCAS) and is designed for those pursuing catastrophe risk management.

Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk (CSCR)

Recognized Best Practice Experts

  • Gain and demonstrate knowledge of practical applications in catastrophe modelling

    • Property / Cat Insurance Market Standards

    • Understanding Best Use of Catastrophe Models

    • Proven knowledge & support of Property Cat (re)insurance value chain

  • 4 courses & exams + Ethics Course.

  • Waivers for Exam 1 include certifications from CPCU or LMA 1 & LMA 3.

  • Experienced Industry Professional Pathway available by nomination with 5+ years experience.

Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professional (CCRMP) 

Recognized Subject Matter Experts

  • Demonstrate advanced applications and methodologies of catastrophe risk management or development / delivery of models

    • Customized / Advanced Applications​

    • Tailoring Own View of CAT Risk

    • Capable of Critical Assessments

    • Trusted Advisor to Senior Stakeholders

  • Experienced Industry Professional Pathway available by nomination

  • A technical credentials pathway is available focused on individuals with extensive experience in the development and delivery of catastrophe models to the user community.




“Analytical functions across the insurance industry, covering finance, risk management and actuarial, are well served by internationally acknowledged and recognised qualification standards. Given the increasing  importance of Catastrophe Risk Management within insurance industry, it is great to see the ISCM releasing a modeler agnostic structured training course. These qualifications should provide those considering a career in Catastrophe Risk Management a structured path for development and accreditation, and assist potential employees in their candidate selection process”


“Munich Re encourages and supports employees pursuing life-long learning for personal and professional development.  Munich Re provides financial assistance and education incentive bonuses for approved programs and courses, which reinforces and recognizes the mutual benefits derived from continued education.  The Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk (CSCR) and Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professional (CCRMP) have been newly added to our list of approved programs, incentivizing employees in the cat modeling/cat risk management roles to pursue these designations.”


“Verisk is pleased to be partnering with the iCAS and ISCM on this new educational initiative. We are happy to support any program whose goals are better and more intelligent use of extreme event models, and this program in particular provides a broad industry perspective that fits very nicely alongside modeler specific programs .



Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk

The requirements for earning the Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk (CSCR) credential include passing four exams and completing an ethics course,

Register now to take the first step in gaining accreditation.

Nomination Requirements for the Designation of Certified Specialist in Catastrophe Risk (CSCR) and Certified Catastrophe Risk Management Professional (CCRMP)

Based on Experience in Lieu of Examinations

The Experienced Industry Professional pathway allows individuals to earn the CSCR and CCRMP credential through an application process rather than by completing the required courses or exams.